Chapter History

In December 1980, twenty South Palm Beach County members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. began working diligently toward the establishment of a chapter in the South Palm Beach County area.

H. Ruth Pompey envisioned a chapter, so she wrote and distributed a newsletter entitled “ALPHA BITS” to members in South Palm Beach County. The first Alpha news was, “WHY NOT GET A CHAPTER IN THIS AREA”. On January 6, 1982, H. Ruth Pompey held a meeting at her home to discuss the possibility of getting a chapter organized and chartered. Members who attended this meeting and became a formal interest group were Maureen Gaines Alexander, Vernise W. Butler* Diane Brown, Dorothy Edmonds*, Rosemary Erwin, Delorisa Fields, Nadine Hart, Phyllis Hill, Sandra Hill, M. Sue Jackson, Barbara Norris, Sherrill Owens*, H. Ruth Pompey*, Mary E. Randolph, Kathryn Key Simmons, Yvonne Blocker Sims, and Ramona Wright and later Margaret Newsome McFadden, Alicia Dobard, Jounice Darcia Hill, and Patricia Ann Scott joined.

Members were very active in the local communities. They sponsored a tutorial program, organized fundraising activities, attended local church services, worked with senior citizens in the community, and attended the Neighborhood meeting (precursor to the Cluster Meeting concept) in Fort Pierce, FL. Mary Shy Scott, then Regional Director of the South Atlantic Region, gave them an on-site visit on the third Sunday in September 1982.

On February 26, 1983, Xi Pi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was chartered.

Margaret Roach, former South Atlantic Regional Director, installed the following officers:

President - H. Ruth Pompey* 
Vice President - Barbara Norris 
Recording Secretary - Maureen Alexander 
Financial Secretary - Diane Brown 
Corresponding Secretary - Vernise Butler* 
Treasurer - Mary Randolph 
Ivy Leaf Reporter - Katrena Randolph Hayes 
Sergeant at Arms - M. Sue Jackson 
Parliamentarian - Alicia Dobard  
Membership Chairman - Nadine Hart 

XI Pi Omega Chapter’s Leaders:

1983 - 1985  -  H. Ruth Pompey* (Charter Member, Golden Soror, Life Member)                          
1986 - 1987  -  Barbara Norris (Charter Member, Golden Soror, Life Member)  
1988 - 1989  -  Helen Condry                                                                                                
1990 - 1991  -  Nadine Hart (Charter Member, Silver Star)                                            
1992 - 1993  -  A. Pearl Jackson*                                                                                                                 
1994 - 1995   - Patricia Jackson (Silver Star, Life Member)                                                       
1996 - 1997  -  Mary Randolph (Charter Member, Golden Soror, Life Member)         
1998 - 1999  -  Tarangula (Tammy) Barnes (Silver Star)                                                
2000 - 2001  -  Dorothy Walker                                                                                                                   
2002 - 2003  -  Candace Fennell-Johnson 
2004 - 2005  -  M. Sue Jackson (Charter Member, Silver Star + 20, Life Member) 
2006 - 2007  -  Charlyne Monroe (Golden Soror, Life Member) 
2008 - 2009  -  Jennifer B. Tims (Silver Star, Life Member) 
2010 Jan.- Aug.- Sandra Saenz** 
2010 - 2011 - Sept. - Dec.  - Candace Fennell-Johnson 
2012 - 2013 - Carol Norwood-Jones (Silver Star) 
2014 - 2015 - Sandra Weatherspoon (Silver Star) 
2016 - Present - Mary Carstarphen (Silver Star) 

*Ivy Beyond the Wall
**Incomplete Term

Upcoming events

Gourment Gents, a Savory Sampling Affair